School Board and Distinguished Educator Banquet

The annual Tri-State Area School Study Council School Board and Distinguished Educator Banquet honors and recognizes outstanding school leaders from our region. The event features hors d’oeuvres, entertainment, dinner, and the awards presentation.

74th Annual School Board and Distinguished Educator Banquet

March 16, 2023
University Club, University of Pittsburgh

5:30 p.m. – Registration and Cash Bar
6:30 p.m. – Program and Dinner, Including Entertainment and Presentation of Awards


Registration is closed.

Congratulations to Our 2023 Award Winners

Distinguished Educator: Dr. Todd Keruskin

D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Boards: Kiski Area School District and Quaker Valley School District

Award Categories

D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Award

The D. Richard Wynn Award was commissioned by the Executive Committee during the 1988-1989 school year to symbolize the contributions of Dr. D. Richard Wynn. Dr. Wynn was the Executive Secretary of Tri-State from 1974 to 1980, and during his tenure, he promoted the idea that decision making by the School Board and administrators should move from conflict to compromise. His idea was frequently referred to as the “win-win” process as he believed that students would be the true beneficiaries of this tactic.

In order to be considered for the award, school organizations must demonstrate exemplary practices by school boards and school district personnel in addressing important issues—issues that reflect directly on improved schooling for students—over at least a two-year period. Please note that the issues faced by the organization need not be conflict-free, rather the issues should indicate effective problem-solving processes.

Distinguished Educator Award

The Executive Committee established the Distinguished Educator Award in 1981 to acknowledge exceptional leadership by practicing administrators, retired educators, and university faculty who have proven a commitment to the mission of Tri-State.  Nominees should have made contributions to education in one or more of the following ways: by contributing to Tri-State’s goals and objectives; by providing leadership to professional organizations, school, and community activities; and/or by making contributions to educational research or publications.